A WordPress tip – automated posting

A few days ago I let out a post sharing that not only do I love blogging, but that have started using the timestamp feature to get out my posts on a regular schedule. If you do this already or want to start doing it (or interested regardless?) I have made some great headway in doing so and would like to share my takeaways!

If you don’t know what I am talking about, this is where you will find the timestamp…

timestamp area screen shotClicking edit located next to “Publish immediately” expands to show this amazing new text field. You are to set the date and time (military time) then select ok to lock in your “to be posted” time. If done successfully you will notice the “Publish” button below now displays “schedule”, which is what you will click when you are ready to finally commit to your posting time/date.

An issue I ran into…

After getting all excited I planned out days worth of posts, only of course! If you are using this same feature you will quickly realize (like I did) that keeping track of every “post to be”. How do I not overlap posts? How do I know when what is posting! I found myself crawling to my professor asking if there was a hidden calendar in WordPress that would help me. No such luck, but given the fact that she has posted literally thousands of times using this feature she was able to give a little “method to the madness”.  She recommended that I record what post, blog used, and time into my calendar. A great solution, but one I would certainty struggle to commit to. Posting as much as she does, it may be the only way to go… but I found a much more intuitive solution myself and it may help you out too!

Here is my solution…

Looking at your posts in the back-end of WordPress, as you surely have done before, you will notice many ways to filter what kind of posts you would like to view. If you are anything like me you have a good hand-full of to be posts under “drafts”.

screen shot of post section in back end
Look carefully and you will see “Scheduled” as one of the filter options, click it!

schedualed tab in page viewI discovered through experimentation that the hierarchy in which these are listed is relative to the time it is scheduled to post! Sadly this does not show the exact time (even in quick edit), but you can get a great idea as to when things are going out.

Currently I am getting out one post in the morning and another in the evening, so it’s quite clear to me that if I have two with the same date that the lower post is the morning one and so on through out the day. Furthermore I feel like a very post thick day would not be hard to make sense of.

I hope I was able to help you out! Feel free to leave a comment if you want to learn or talk more!

1 Comment

  1. Excellent tutorial. I have used a variety of methods over the years, and the good old write it down on the calendar method is the one that serves me best.

    Publishing twice a day is a huge commitment, one that you may want to reconsider when school work and life and work gets in the way, and can also overwhelm your readers. For some audiences once a day is enough, for others 10 times a day. For others, once a month is more than enough. You must always take them into account as they are the recipients of your great intelligence.

    I’m really proud of the great work that you have been doing on your site in the fantastic information that you share with so many people. My question to you is why do you need to track this so closely. If you schedule 1 post a day do you really forget what posts when that quickly?

    The why of why people do things has always faacinated me, especially when they put a lot of energy into some that feels like energy best spent elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

