Responsive Design Workflow – Chapters 1,2,3

I love how the author jumps right off sharing his background the development of how web sites are developed and then goes straight to poking holes at the entire process, making a mockery of it, arguably even throwing a wrench into the whole concept. Beautiful. Furthermore, necessary. I have been thinking to my self very much recently, whats so different between what I want to and others in my classes with similar but different interests and fields want to do? I suppose the real difference is personal interest/focus, the author goes to make a good point that if your touching front-end work then it means… well you touched the front-end. It seems like a moot point and isn’t the soul focus of this chapter but its a great point to look at none the less. It takes no thought and comes with no regret to follow the author as he “jumps from the waterfall” and take a step forward into designing in the browser.

Websites should not be built like automobiles in an assembly line.

What a great idea! Its kinda a statement that deserves a response to the nature of, “duh”. I have my sites set more on doing freelance and more individualistic work, but I was disturbed to learn how teams building websites interacted.  Even from a stand point that is involved I have remained upset with such a illogical method of completing a task, let alone a task of this type. Just as I largely dislike poor-efficiency I value true efficiency greatly and the manner in which the author proposes one should start designing a website is spectacular. Its simple, fast, realistic, and growth oriented.

The authors stance that wireframes are over complicated, it makes me uneasy. I understand how he has come to feel such a way but I myself from a rather unbiased point of view slightly concur. I believe that basic sketched wireframes would be a perfect step added between gathering a content inventory and jumping into markup. It gives a simple and non time consuming moment to figure our what the client does and does not want, even if its a vague it of direction, but I digress the author shows humility in his stance and I may feel different as I continue on. As a final side note, I feel like mobile first is genius; its simple and very growth oriented.

Leave a Reply

